Members of the board pictured against a dramatic coastline

Changes to the Board

InsightsMay 19, 2020

As stated in the Articles of Association for Norwegian Hull Club, the Committee shall elect the Board of Directors, as well as the Chair and Deputy Chair of the Board.

This year, the election terms for Board members Hans Olav Lindal, Rebekka Glasser Herlofsen, Morten Ulstein and Siri Pettersen Strandenes all expired.

Following a Committee Meeting held on May 14, Herlofsen has been elected Chair of the Board of Norwegian Hull Club. She replaces Lindal in the role, who served on the Board for ten years – the period of time after which, according to its mandate, the Election Committee shall seek to replace members of the Board. Previously, from 2007 until 2010, Lindal held the position of Chair of the Committee at Norwegian Hull Club.

Herlofsen was elected as a Wallenius Wilhelmsen Logistics-appointed representative on Norwegian Hull Club’s Board in May 2018. She is on the Board of Wilh. Wilhelmsen Holding ASA, as well as being on the boards of several other companies including Equinor ASA (formerly Statoil ASA) and Klaveness Combination Carriers ASA. 

The position of Deputy Chair, previously held by Herlofsen, is now occupied by serving Norwegian Hull Club Board member Øystein Beisland.

Strandenes, meanwhile, was re-elected to the Board, while Morten Ulstein stepped down after serving for nine years.

Magne Øvreås, Rebekka Glasser Herlofsen, Martin Karset
From left: Magne Øvreås, Rebekka Glasser Herlofsen, Martin Karset

Magne Øvreås and Martin Karset join the Board as new members. Øvreås has been CEO and co-owner of EGD Shipholding AS since 2015. He is a board member of a number of shipping companies and the Norwegian Ship Owners Association’s Deep Sea Group.

Martin Karset has been legal counsel at Hurtigruten AS since 2017. Previously, he worked as a lawyer at Wiersholm (2014-17), Aker Solutions AS (2010-14) and DLA Piper (2004-10).

Øvreås and Karset both possess extensive experience from various segments of our industry and The Club is pleased that they have accepted positions as Board members.

Norwegian Hull Club wishes to express its gratitude to both Hans Olav Lindal and Morten Ulstein for their time on the Board and the valuable contributions they made to promote the wellbeing of the organisation.